Makeup Reviews

Easy Vacation Makeup Look (7/21/2018)

Hey beauties! I am officially on vacation and I couldn’t be happier. These next two weeks I will be doing vacation related posts! So this post is going to show you an easy makeup look you can wear when going out on vacation (these makeup products also don’t require much space in your carry-on or suitcase)!

I did dewy foundation, I contoured my cheeks lightly with pink blush and applied BECCA Cosmetics highlighter in Opal. My eyebrows are filled in with Estee Lauder’s Brow Pencil and combed with MACs Brow Gel. I did my eyeshadow with a mauve pink shadow and smoked my lash line out with the same pink shade I then used Opal on my lid. I threw on Kat Von D liner and lashes. Lastly, I put on Jeffree Star Cosmetics Christmas Cookie Velour Liquid Lipstick.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content. Comment down below what your thoughts are on this eye look!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Urban Decay Born To Run Palette Review And Eye Look (7/16/2018)

Hey beauties! I’m excited to finally review Urban Decay’s newest eyeshadow palette Born To Run. This was featured in my post Shopping Haul because I went to Sephora on my Trip To the mall and purchased this palette. I was ecstatic to review this palette!

Of course, we will discuss the packaging of the palette first. This palette’s unicarton is super cute, it has the Urban Decay symbol with pieces of the front of the palette in the letters. It almost looks like the UD is cut out and you are looking at the front of the palette already. Such a cool concept! For the packaging of the actual palette itself, I love that Urban Decay complied a ton of travel photos and made it into a sort of travel mood board. The palette’s packaging is also super sturdy because it’s made of plastic (not heavy duty cardboard or thin tin like a lot of other palettes).

The palette itself is huge. It’s a lot bigger width wise and length wise than I expected. There are 21 shadows in this palette, which is a decent amount of shadows for an eyeshadow palette. The mirror is very large and the palette is luxuriously heavy, these are two things I make sure to note when buying a palette because the price point becomes important if they skip out on the packaging. The color scheme of this palette is very different and definitely gives me the travel feels.

The size of the pan for these eyeshadows are pretty big, they are about the size of my thumb. The only problem I have with the palette is that there are a few shades I personally know I won’t typically use.

The eyeshadows have a lot of color pay off. They are not only pigmented but there isn’t a lot of fallout either. These eyeshadows blend together seamlessly and there are endless amounts of eye looks you could do with this palette. I love that the palette can be used a lot and also something you can display on your vanity. The shimmer shades are also very creamy.

I did an eye look using this palette i started off with the tan shade Breakaway to soften the eyeshadow primer, I then used the peach shade Still Shot as my transition shade. I then blended Riff into my crease and then blended the shade Good As Gone into my crease and blended it out. After, I took concealer and applied it to the sides of the shadow to make it a more defined shadow line (cut crease look). To top the look of I threw on a winged liner and fake lashes.

I really loved this palette! I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content! Comment below your favorite shade from this palette!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

No-Makeup, Makeup Look (7/12/2018)

Hey beauties! I decided, with summer being here, to do a no-makeup, makeup look for today’s post. These are for the days where you guys want a quick and easy natural makeup look to accentuate your beauty but look as if you aren’t wearing any makeup.

What I did was, I used a light coverage foundation. You can use a B.B. cream or a sheer foundation, I used Maybelline’s B.B. cream! I then added some bronzer to my face to lightly contour myself and added a neutral toned blush. After, I did my brows very lightly with a brow pencil– but I did not use brow gel. I threw on highlighter, a light coat of mascara and lip tint and called it a day.

As you can see, the makeup look is light enough to allow my natural freckles to be seen which is furthering the no-makeup look. If you don’t have natural freckles you can also add freckles to your face by using either a brown eyeliner or a brown eyebrow pencil.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below what you think about this makeup look!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Surratt Lid Lacquer And Marc Jacobs Shameless Foundation Review (7/11/2018)

Hey beauties! I recently got the Surratt Lid Lacquer in shade Shu Iro and I also got a deluxe size sample of Marc Jacobs Shameless foundation in shade Medium. I really wanted to test both of these out so I figured I would do a dual review!

Even though one is a sample I am still going to talk about the packaging first, as always! For the Surratt Lid Lacquer, I really like the packaging for this. It’s very simple and sleek in a small black eyeshadow pot! What’s great is that this Lid Lacquer has a mirror, but it is a lot smaller than I expected it to be, it fits in the palm of my hand. For the Marc Jacobs sample I think the packaging is cute and very similar to the packaging of the actual full-size product. It definitely is pretty nice packaging and size for just a sample.

For the Marc Jacobs foundation, I wasn’t too crazy about it. I liked the finish that the foundation had but I felt even after a while of blending it, it was still pretty patchy. Another problem I ran into is that the foundation dried a lot faster than I could blend it out. This made it very hard to move the product around. For the Surratt Lid Lacquer, I really loved it but I feel that you would have to carry this with you if you wore this look out. It creases way too much around the crease of your lid to not carry it around to touch it up throughout the day. But I really did love it because it was very pigmented which is hard to find in a Lid Lacquer! I did the eye look with Jeffree Star Cosmetics’s Blood Sugar Palette pairing it with the Surratt Lid Lacquer! I used the MAC Paint Pot to prep my eye. I then took the shade Sugarcane in the Blood Sugar palette and softened the product on my eye and used it as a nice transition shade. I then took the shade Prick blended it into my crease and continuously brought the color closer to my brow bone. After, I took the shade Sugarcane again to soften the edges of the red shade. I then applied the Surratt Lid Lacquer to my lid. I was really happy with this eye look.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content! Comment below what you think about the foundation and the Lid Lacquer!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Hourglass Veil Translucent Setting Powder Review (7/10/2018)

Hey beauties! I recently was able to purchase the new Hourglass Veil Translucent Setting Powder! I have been so excited to review this product since I received it. I had run out of my Too Faced Born This Way Setting Powder which is what I used on a daily basis and when I went to re-purchase, it was sold out. So I decided to get the Hourglass Veil Setting Powder to try it out.

First, as always, we are going to discuss packaging! I am obsessed with Hourglass’s packaging for almost all of their products. So why would this one be any different? This is absolute perfect and vanity worthy packaging. It’s a super sleek look with the brown chrome cap and the glass container with the gold lettering. Also, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw how large the setting powder was. It’s 3/4 the size of my whole hand!

I also am in love with the gold concave dish inside with the letter H in the middle where the powder comes out of. I even want the inside of the setting powder to be displayed, it’s so gorgeous. There is a decent amount of powder that comes out of the middle which I thought was going to be a problem because it is a small areas where the powder is released, but it isn’t an issue.

When I applied the powder to my face it honestly felt like silk. My skin also sucked in the product and gave my skin a very smooth and airbrushed look. It also helped with the texture of my face, since I have dry skin some areas of the skin are rough and this solved that problem. This airbrushed look lasted the whole day and night. My foundation was not creasing and I feel that the powder also brightened my skin a little as well. I 100% recommend this product, it’s my new favorite setting powder!

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below if you’ve gotten a chance to try the product. If so, what did you think about it? If not, are you thinking of trying it out?

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Tarte Rainforest Of The Sea Palettes II & III Review (7/8/2018)

Hey beauties! I haven’t reviewed the Rainforest Of The Sea palettes yet so I really wanted to do Vol. II and III together! I am waiting on the first and fourth Rainforest Of The Sea palettes to get to me so I will do another dual palette review post when they both arrive!

Of course we are going to talk about the packaging first for each of these palettes. I’ve always loved the packaging of the Rainforest Of The Sea Collection. Everything is always super cute, I think that the graphics on the palettes are the cutest part of the packaging. I also really like that everything else is trimmed in gold with each Rainforest Of The Sea Palette. That gold trimming is what gives the collection uniform. I also really like how sturdy these palettes are as well, the packaging is definitely good quality.

The palette is about the size of my hand and I really like that the mirror is a decent size. Nothing is worse than a palette without a mirror or such a small mirror it’s impossible to use. The color schemes for each palette is simple and neutral but cute. Either palette is definitely not worth the purchase for someone who doesn’t use shimmer shades though. I’d say about 3/4 of each Rainforest Of The Sea palette is complied of shimmer shades.

For the Rainforest Of The Sea Palette Vol II each shade was rich in pigment and they were such creamy eyeshadows (particularly the shimmer shades). The shades I liked most in the palette were Pearl, Conch, Sunset and Breezy. One shade that needed a little bit more build up was Seaside. They blended out well and also blended well together.

For the Rainforest Of The Sea Palette Vol III there were definitely more shimmer shades. The shadows had the same creamy consistency to them like the other palette. They were all pigmented but Tiki was too pale and sheer of a color to even show on my skin which was frustrating since it was the only matte shade in the palette. But regardless of that each shade blended out well and blended well together. I really liked the shades Treasure, Heat Wave, Rays and Jewel.

I overall like the Rainforest Of The Sea Eyeshadow palettes but keep in mind they are very simple in their color scheme and they are mostly shimmer shades. I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment below what you think about these palettes!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Maybelline Superstay Full Coverage 24 Hour Foundation Review (7/5/2018)

Hey beauties! I am super excited about this review today. I recently purchased the brand new Superstay Maybelline foundation that apparently is full coverage and stays on for 24 hours. I am not a full coverage girl, I like medium coverage because it allows my natural freckles to come out. But I figured I’d give it a try! So I grabbed this foundation in shade 220 and did my normal makeup routine but using Superstay instead of FIT Me (my holy grail foundation)!

Let’s talk packaging for a little bit before we get into the review. I think the packaging of this product is sleek and elegant but it’s very similar to a lot of other Maybelline foundation packaging. Regardless, I like that the bottle is glass and instead of pouring the product out of the foundation bottle (like with the FIT Me foundation), it has a dispenser. For the price point of $10, I can’t really complain!

This picture was taken after a whole day of wearing the foundation (from 8am until 1am) and I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. My skin almost looks airbrushed and there is no creases, oily spots, cracking or breaking down of the foundation. Something that was also super surprising– this foundation barely oxidized as well. I definitely like the way this foundation looks on me and even though I’ve never been a fan of full coverage foundation this experience has definitely changed my mind. I recommend trying out this product for yourselves!

I hope you enjoyed this makeup review and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content! Also, comment down below what coverage you prefer when it comes to foundation!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Garnier Clean Refreshing Remover Cleansing Towelettes Review (6/27/2018)

Hey beauties! I had recently stumbled upon Garnier makeup remover and cleaning wipes, I purchased them and had to write a review. Garnier is coming out with a lot of products recently and I never realized that they have been selling products other than hair care until a week ago!

These makeup wipes come with 25 in a pack and I purchased them on sale for about $4. These makeup wipes are said to be oil free, they remove impurities and makeup as well as revitalize the skin. I personally wouldn’t use these instead of a liquid facial cleanser but I would definitely use these as makeup wipes.

As I tested these out, I realized that they smelled minty. The minty scent makes using these so much more refreshing. I have gone through many brands of makeup wipes but no makeup wipe compares to how refreshing these are because of the peppermint. These wipes removed all of my makeup with only a few wipe and it didn’t take a lot of rubbing or tugging. I really enjoyed these makeup wipes and will definitely be purchasing again!

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Yellow Eye Look (6/18/2018)

Since summer is around the corner I wanted to do a bright yellow eye look because the color yellow reminds me of summer. It reminds me of eating pineapple by the pool on a hot summer day. For this eye look I used the Coral HUDA Beauty Obsessions and the Soft Glam palettes.

I used the shade Tempera in the Soft Glam palette as my transition shade, I then used the yellow shade in the HUDA Beauty Obsessions palette in my crease and blended it up to my brow bone. After, I used the shades Glistening and Fairy from the Soft Glam palette on my lid. I softened the look of the lid shimmer shades with the yellow shade.

I hope you enjoyed this post and eye look and make sure to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content. Comment below what you think about this eye look and what the color yellow reminds you of!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Make Up For Ever Artist Color Pencil Review (6/17/2018)

Make Up For Ever came out with multiple colors of artist pencils that can be used as an eyeliner, brow pencil and a lipstick. I was super excited to get my hands on one of these really cool products. I am testing mine out as a lipstick. I have the shade Perpetual Fire which is a bright red color. This artist pencil is $18 at Sephora which is fairly inexpensive.

The artist pencil is great as a lipstick and it goes on completely matte. It lasts for a very long time, it is mostly kiss proof as well as food and drink proof. It feels a little drying but I actually like this artist pencil as a lipstick more than many other red lipsticks I have. I like it mostly because it’s super pigmented, easy to outline the lips like you would do with a lip liner and it also doesn’t bleed or smudge. It’s also amazing that these artist pencils are multipurpose as eyeliners, and brow pencils. These artist pencils are great to add to any makeup collection and are great quality. There are also 38 different colors to choose from! I definitely recommend trying these out and adding some of these multi use artist pencils to your makeup drawer.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell