Makeup Reviews

Elf Lip Plumping Gloss Review (9/15/2018)

Hey beauties! Today, I will be reviewing an Elf product that I recently picked up from Target. It was one of those products that begged to be in my cart. There was no way I could refuse purchasing this especially being in the spirit of buying things I don’t need. Isn’t that any Target trip though?

First, we are going to discuss packaging as always. I actually love the packaging for this product. The sleekness of the crystal looking tube and even the typography is aesthetically pleasing. I can tell that the better quality packaged products are the more expensive ones. This lip gloss was $8 not including tax.

I got this lip gloss in the shade pink cosmo. I thought the name of this was suitable for the color and flavor of this lip gloss. I am very happy that this lip gloss isn’t plain, it has refined glitter in the lip gloss itself that gives it a perfect sheen to it.

This is a before and after picture of no product vs. wearing the Lip Plumping Gloss. In a way I feel that there is a minimal difference in the plumpness of my lips. If anything I feel it filled my lips out a little more but it didn’t make them noticeably bigger. I do enjoy this product though as a lip gloss in general. Something I am happy with is that the refined glitter isn’t gritty on the lips which tends to be an issue with products like this.

Overall, I like this product and I feel like it made my lips fuller but nothing too noticeable. With that, I recommend this more as a lip gloss than a lip plumper. I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below what your thoughts are on the results of this Lip Plumping Gloss.

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Makeup Revolution Eyeshadow Palette Review (9/1/2018)

Hey beauties! I’m super excited to review Makeup Revolution’s Reloaded eyeshadow Palette. I recently hauled this in my Ulta Haul post which you can read here: Ulta Beauty Haul. This palette really caught my eye because of the many different shades that were in the palette.

Of course, as per usual, we will discuss the packaging of the product first. Makeup Revolution in general is very affordable and this palette itself only costs $7. With that in mind the brand had to cut corners somewhere to keep products good quality but still at an affordable price point. They clearly cut corners when it came to packaging. It’s definitely lower quality packaging, I feel that Elf Cosmetics has better packaging.

Now, as for the quality of the eyeshadows themselves. They aren’t the best quality I’ve ever seen but they definitely aren’t the worst. It took a few swipes to get good pigment on a lot of the matte shades. When it comes to applying them with a brush I feel that you have to make sure you are using a dense brush otherwise you aren’t going to pick up enough product. It’s kind of hard to blend so this isn’t a palette for those who are just starting to learn how to do makeup. The one problem I have is that the iridescent white shade barely even shows up which you can see for yourself since it’s the first swatch on my arm under the yellow. I would definitely test these eyeshadows out at Ulta before making a purchase!

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below what your thoughts are on this Makeup Revolution palette.

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Dose Of Colors Liquid Lipstick Review (8/25/2018)

Hey beauties! I think from now on I am going to try and give you all little breaks in between my haul posts since I do hauls so often. So here I am today with a review of a liquid lipstick I wrote about in a haul post yesterday! You can check out that haul post here: Ulta Beauty Haul #2.

So, if you missed the post yesterday make sure to read up on that because these two posts are directly related with one another. I purchased a liquid lipstick from Ulta in the search for a nice fall shade. I grabbed this lipstick from Dose Of Colors and I was automatically obsessed. It was a nice berry mauve shade which gives me a break from the constant nude shades I usually wear.

Let’s talk about packaging, of course we do this first before jumping into the review. I think this packaging is very simple and sleek but it would be the perfect addition to the vanity. It is great quality and it honestly reminds me of Jeffrey Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick packaging! I love the frosted look of the tube and the white chrome duo is gorgeous.

The shade name of this matte liquid lipstick is Warm & Fuzzy. The shade name honestly translates to how this lipstick makes me feel. I love how this shade looks on me and the formula is amazing. The matte finish is perfect and it’s tested (by me) to be kiss proof but definitely not food proof so make sure you carry it to re-apply if you are planning to dine-out. It wasn’t a streaky lipstick but I did apply two coats and the picture above is the result. This is definitely a brand worth checking out, their products can be found at Ulta on Ultas website or on Dose Of Colors website.

I hope you enjoyed this review and remember to subscribe for email notifications. Comment down below what your thoughts are on this brand Dose Of Colors and their liquid lipstick.

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Anastasia Beverly Hills Norvina Palette Review (8/22/2018)

Hey beauties! I’m here to finally review the Anastasia Beverly Hills Norvina eyeshadow palette. I just got this for my birthday from one of my best friends and I have been super excited to test it out and share my results with you all. From the looks of this palette I actually wasn’t sure if it was for me. It just didn’t seem like a palette I would use very often but I decided I wanted it just for the sake of collection but I was wrong! I’ll discuss why later…

First, let’s obviously discuss packaging as always! Since the Norvina palette is the sister palette to Modern Renaissance, Subculture, and Soft Glam it has the same velvet packaging. I am in love with the lavender color of the palette as well. The packaging is made well and it’s sturdy like it’s sister palettes. If you don’t know Claudia Norvina is the daughter of Anastasia Soare who is the original creator and owner of Anastasia Beverly Hills. Her daughter Claudia Norvina is the president of the makeup company and this palette is named after her.

The inside of the palette is the classic sister palettes look as well. I’ve always loved the look of these palettes. They are simple, sleek yet elegant and look great on any vanity. I love the shade range on the palette as well, it’s absolutely gorgeous. But the shade range was a reason I wasn’t sure if I wanted the palette in the first place. I didn’t know if I would use the shades in the palette… until I swatched it!

After swatching the shades I knew that this palette wasn’t something I wanted just for collection. The shades look so amazing swatched and seeing them in the eyeshadow pans does not do these gorgeous shadows justice. They are very pigmented and are soft shadows. My favorite shades are Summer, Wild Child, Rose Gold, Soul, and Love.

I did an eye-look with this palette and I used the shade Base to soften my eyeshadow primer, I then used the shade Incense as a transition shade. Afterwards, I used the cool toned dark brown shade called Volatile in the crease of my eye and I blended it out into a cat eye. I used the shade Summer on my lid and on the inner corners of my eyes. To give the eyes an edgier look I took one of my favorite shades Soul, which is a periwinkle color, and blended it on my lower lash line. I then added some mascara to finish off the look!

I loved this palette and I hope you enjoyed this review post as well as the eyeshadow look I made with it! Please remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content. Comment down below what shades you like the most from this gorgeous ABH palette!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Easy Vacation Makeup Look (7/21/2018)

Hey beauties! I am officially on vacation and I couldn’t be happier. These next two weeks I will be doing vacation related posts! So this post is going to show you an easy makeup look you can wear when going out on vacation (these makeup products also don’t require much space in your carry-on or suitcase)!

I did dewy foundation, I contoured my cheeks lightly with pink blush and applied BECCA Cosmetics highlighter in Opal. My eyebrows are filled in with Estee Lauder’s Brow Pencil and combed with MACs Brow Gel. I did my eyeshadow with a mauve pink shadow and smoked my lash line out with the same pink shade I then used Opal on my lid. I threw on Kat Von D liner and lashes. Lastly, I put on Jeffree Star Cosmetics Christmas Cookie Velour Liquid Lipstick.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content. Comment down below what your thoughts are on this eye look!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Urban Decay Born To Run Palette Review And Eye Look (7/16/2018)

Hey beauties! I’m excited to finally review Urban Decay’s newest eyeshadow palette Born To Run. This was featured in my post Shopping Haul because I went to Sephora on my Trip To the mall and purchased this palette. I was ecstatic to review this palette!

Of course, we will discuss the packaging of the palette first. This palette’s unicarton is super cute, it has the Urban Decay symbol with pieces of the front of the palette in the letters. It almost looks like the UD is cut out and you are looking at the front of the palette already. Such a cool concept! For the packaging of the actual palette itself, I love that Urban Decay complied a ton of travel photos and made it into a sort of travel mood board. The palette’s packaging is also super sturdy because it’s made of plastic (not heavy duty cardboard or thin tin like a lot of other palettes).

The palette itself is huge. It’s a lot bigger width wise and length wise than I expected. There are 21 shadows in this palette, which is a decent amount of shadows for an eyeshadow palette. The mirror is very large and the palette is luxuriously heavy, these are two things I make sure to note when buying a palette because the price point becomes important if they skip out on the packaging. The color scheme of this palette is very different and definitely gives me the travel feels.

The size of the pan for these eyeshadows are pretty big, they are about the size of my thumb. The only problem I have with the palette is that there are a few shades I personally know I won’t typically use.

The eyeshadows have a lot of color pay off. They are not only pigmented but there isn’t a lot of fallout either. These eyeshadows blend together seamlessly and there are endless amounts of eye looks you could do with this palette. I love that the palette can be used a lot and also something you can display on your vanity. The shimmer shades are also very creamy.

I did an eye look using this palette i started off with the tan shade Breakaway to soften the eyeshadow primer, I then used the peach shade Still Shot as my transition shade. I then blended Riff into my crease and then blended the shade Good As Gone into my crease and blended it out. After, I took concealer and applied it to the sides of the shadow to make it a more defined shadow line (cut crease look). To top the look of I threw on a winged liner and fake lashes.

I really loved this palette! I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content! Comment below your favorite shade from this palette!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

No-Makeup, Makeup Look (7/12/2018)

Hey beauties! I decided, with summer being here, to do a no-makeup, makeup look for today’s post. These are for the days where you guys want a quick and easy natural makeup look to accentuate your beauty but look as if you aren’t wearing any makeup.

What I did was, I used a light coverage foundation. You can use a B.B. cream or a sheer foundation, I used Maybelline’s B.B. cream! I then added some bronzer to my face to lightly contour myself and added a neutral toned blush. After, I did my brows very lightly with a brow pencil– but I did not use brow gel. I threw on highlighter, a light coat of mascara and lip tint and called it a day.

As you can see, the makeup look is light enough to allow my natural freckles to be seen which is furthering the no-makeup look. If you don’t have natural freckles you can also add freckles to your face by using either a brown eyeliner or a brown eyebrow pencil.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below what you think about this makeup look!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Surratt Lid Lacquer And Marc Jacobs Shameless Foundation Review (7/11/2018)

Hey beauties! I recently got the Surratt Lid Lacquer in shade Shu Iro and I also got a deluxe size sample of Marc Jacobs Shameless foundation in shade Medium. I really wanted to test both of these out so I figured I would do a dual review!

Even though one is a sample I am still going to talk about the packaging first, as always! For the Surratt Lid Lacquer, I really like the packaging for this. It’s very simple and sleek in a small black eyeshadow pot! What’s great is that this Lid Lacquer has a mirror, but it is a lot smaller than I expected it to be, it fits in the palm of my hand. For the Marc Jacobs sample I think the packaging is cute and very similar to the packaging of the actual full-size product. It definitely is pretty nice packaging and size for just a sample.

For the Marc Jacobs foundation, I wasn’t too crazy about it. I liked the finish that the foundation had but I felt even after a while of blending it, it was still pretty patchy. Another problem I ran into is that the foundation dried a lot faster than I could blend it out. This made it very hard to move the product around. For the Surratt Lid Lacquer, I really loved it but I feel that you would have to carry this with you if you wore this look out. It creases way too much around the crease of your lid to not carry it around to touch it up throughout the day. But I really did love it because it was very pigmented which is hard to find in a Lid Lacquer! I did the eye look with Jeffree Star Cosmetics’s Blood Sugar Palette pairing it with the Surratt Lid Lacquer! I used the MAC Paint Pot to prep my eye. I then took the shade Sugarcane in the Blood Sugar palette and softened the product on my eye and used it as a nice transition shade. I then took the shade Prick blended it into my crease and continuously brought the color closer to my brow bone. After, I took the shade Sugarcane again to soften the edges of the red shade. I then applied the Surratt Lid Lacquer to my lid. I was really happy with this eye look.

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content! Comment below what you think about the foundation and the Lid Lacquer!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Hourglass Veil Translucent Setting Powder Review (7/10/2018)

Hey beauties! I recently was able to purchase the new Hourglass Veil Translucent Setting Powder! I have been so excited to review this product since I received it. I had run out of my Too Faced Born This Way Setting Powder which is what I used on a daily basis and when I went to re-purchase, it was sold out. So I decided to get the Hourglass Veil Setting Powder to try it out.

First, as always, we are going to discuss packaging! I am obsessed with Hourglass’s packaging for almost all of their products. So why would this one be any different? This is absolute perfect and vanity worthy packaging. It’s a super sleek look with the brown chrome cap and the glass container with the gold lettering. Also, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw how large the setting powder was. It’s 3/4 the size of my whole hand!

I also am in love with the gold concave dish inside with the letter H in the middle where the powder comes out of. I even want the inside of the setting powder to be displayed, it’s so gorgeous. There is a decent amount of powder that comes out of the middle which I thought was going to be a problem because it is a small areas where the powder is released, but it isn’t an issue.

When I applied the powder to my face it honestly felt like silk. My skin also sucked in the product and gave my skin a very smooth and airbrushed look. It also helped with the texture of my face, since I have dry skin some areas of the skin are rough and this solved that problem. This airbrushed look lasted the whole day and night. My foundation was not creasing and I feel that the powder also brightened my skin a little as well. I 100% recommend this product, it’s my new favorite setting powder!

I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment down below if you’ve gotten a chance to try the product. If so, what did you think about it? If not, are you thinking of trying it out?

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell

Tarte Rainforest Of The Sea Palettes II & III Review (7/8/2018)

Hey beauties! I haven’t reviewed the Rainforest Of The Sea palettes yet so I really wanted to do Vol. II and III together! I am waiting on the first and fourth Rainforest Of The Sea palettes to get to me so I will do another dual palette review post when they both arrive!

Of course we are going to talk about the packaging first for each of these palettes. I’ve always loved the packaging of the Rainforest Of The Sea Collection. Everything is always super cute, I think that the graphics on the palettes are the cutest part of the packaging. I also really like that everything else is trimmed in gold with each Rainforest Of The Sea Palette. That gold trimming is what gives the collection uniform. I also really like how sturdy these palettes are as well, the packaging is definitely good quality.

The palette is about the size of my hand and I really like that the mirror is a decent size. Nothing is worse than a palette without a mirror or such a small mirror it’s impossible to use. The color schemes for each palette is simple and neutral but cute. Either palette is definitely not worth the purchase for someone who doesn’t use shimmer shades though. I’d say about 3/4 of each Rainforest Of The Sea palette is complied of shimmer shades.

For the Rainforest Of The Sea Palette Vol II each shade was rich in pigment and they were such creamy eyeshadows (particularly the shimmer shades). The shades I liked most in the palette were Pearl, Conch, Sunset and Breezy. One shade that needed a little bit more build up was Seaside. They blended out well and also blended well together.

For the Rainforest Of The Sea Palette Vol III there were definitely more shimmer shades. The shadows had the same creamy consistency to them like the other palette. They were all pigmented but Tiki was too pale and sheer of a color to even show on my skin which was frustrating since it was the only matte shade in the palette. But regardless of that each shade blended out well and blended well together. I really liked the shades Treasure, Heat Wave, Rays and Jewel.

I overall like the Rainforest Of The Sea Eyeshadow palettes but keep in mind they are very simple in their color scheme and they are mostly shimmer shades. I hope you enjoyed this post and remember to subscribe for email notifications for when I post new content and comment below what you think about these palettes!

-Stay Chic,

Stephanie Russell